This is about a personal experience which recently involved myself and a company I have come to despise. It is not going to be a post that conforms to the usual material I will be posting. It’s not such a good way to begin this blog, I agree, but it is just a little something I felt was necessary  to share with all who read Cranium. Hopefully, I can get some feedback from a few others about this post, confirming what I am trying to convey.

 

     *By the way – if you have not already done so, please visit the About page. It serves as a sort of “charter” for this blog site and gives a few details as to what my purpose and intentions for it are.

 

Anyway, this is about my adventures in attempting to deal with a communications company called Verizon. Just this month, on the 4th, I contacted them with the decision to have them provide internet service. I discussed, at length, the services and terms of their provision with the customer service representative. What a laugh that process was! Customer Service? I do not think so. Half of these reps act as though they have no idea what they are doing, and they all continue to repeat the same questions. Their computer systems most certainly record and shift the information given from one terminal to another, so the reps should have the account information in front of them. But they don’t. It is always the same damn problem: only a handful of them actually read the notations made on the account pertaining to whatever issue is currently under way, or what might have been discussed with another rep in a previous call – and I made a LOT of them. Honestly, I lost count after about fifteen calls, but I would not be at all surprised to discover that two dozen calls were made.

 

The point of this first-person perspective article is the absolutely horrible performance of these “customer service representatives”, if that is really what Verizon insists on calling them. On some days, I needed to make up to three calls a day to get to someone who was qualified enough to give me more precise answers. And if anyone knows how this is, even with another company perhaps, then that person or persons can understand and relate to it. Seriously… it were as though these reps were not aware of the possibility that the transmission was being recorded. Also, if I requested to speak to a supervisor, the request was dodged and subverted – all of the time. In all of those multitude of calls I was never able to speak to anyone in an administrative position. It took forever to get the first HSI package installed, and a “line tech” was required to visit my place to fix an external problem which prevented any signal at all. It was approximately a week-and-a-half before this tech came to my home to do the necessary work. Their reps constantly gave me the ridiculous excuse that they could do nothing about the “work stoppage” due to the Verizon employees’ strike. What a load of bull, and I told them that the strike was an internal problem and should not reflect on Verizon’s customers in the least. It is the company’s responsibility to maintain service and good customer relations and they were not even attempting to do this. I know Verizon lost a considerable number of customers and I was just about to be amongst that number. But I hung in a little longer and fought my way through.

 


 

Companies like Verizon and others, large corporations, tend to grow so large that their employee spread gets to be too numerous. The number is so large, in fact, that it can be difficult to maintain order and proper training for them all. The first ones to greet an individual are the most crucial and therefore should be trained intricately so they are able to make the best impression possible. They should be empowered with the tools to operate smoothly and have the knowledge and clearance to provide what is needed in the call. These representatives can give good customer service if given the chance, but in most cases they are clearly not. From my experiences the reps respond as though they are just given a desk with a terminal and a chair, additionally given a set of papers with general information and instructions on what to say or do, and that’s it. It’s pathetic. It’s no wonder these large companies have financial problems and have to be given a federal “bail out”. We all know where the root of the problem lies, however they don’t want to listen.

 

Am I right or am I right? Give me a shout out here with your own opinion on this. I welcome all opinions and respect your right to have a contradictory thought or two. That’s what makes the world go around, after all. Open-mouthed smile